Tags

, , , , ,

Continuing our series of Online Discussions for the Olweus Antibullying program, students were to discuss the qualities of heroism in relation to bullying.

School wide Lesson 3_Feb 2014.doc37 KB

Last assignment, we held a discussion on Edmodo and I summarized their responses on a chart. This assignment, I decided to create a chart using Google Docs. I had a few students act as editors, and asked the rest of the class to comment on the document. This gave students (and to be honest, me too) the opportunity to figure out how to use a Google Doc. I provided a screen shot below, but here is the link to look at the Hero document that we created.

Screen shot 2014-02-14 at 11.29.04 AM

You will notice I included certain people/characters that might be considered heroes: Superman, Batman, Katniss from the Hunger Games, Odysseus (9th graders were required to read the Odyssey during the first semester), a solider, and Jesus. I felt that students would have a good understanding about what made these people heroes and how they would respond to bullies.

But after reviewing the Olweus guidelines, I realized that my students might not consider themselves “heroes” or brave enough to act. So I needed an example of a reluctant hero. The movie Wreck It Ralph contains many reluctant heroes. The example I posted for my students was Fixit Felix Jr’s handling of wanting to be invited to the party.

Felix was very hesitant to ask Ralph in, even though he knew it was the right thing to do. But once Ralph is at the party, Felix tries to intercede on Ralph behalf when the other characters verbally attack Ralph. I thought that was a good example of heroism.

Another example would be Ralph coming to the defense of Penelope Von Sweets when the other racers verbally abuse the “glitch” for being different and gang up on her in order to destroy her car.

Can you name another part of Wreck It Ralph that could be used in a K-5 or 6-8 lesson on bullying? Post it in the reply ad share your thoughts.

