Another form of collaboration for teachers… Peeking into each others classrooms via blogs!

Thoughts from Mr. Francis

I was listening to a sports radio show yesterday and the host said, “Say It Out Loud . . .” He was trying to get the audience to understand his perspective on a topic and he boiled it down to a couple of sentences that, when you Say It Out Loud, there is supposed to be some clarity on the issue.

This is something I tell my students to do while learning math. Oftentimes, when someone has an idea floating around in his/her mind, the idea seems reasonable and sensible. However, when that person tries to Say It Out Loud, there is a struggle. It is in this moment where a great learning opportunity presents itself. Why does the idea seem so clear in one’s mind, yet is so difficult to express? Gaps in understanding are hidden and a false perception of understanding exists. Therefore, I have to provide my students…

View original post 416 more words

