Geocaching is something new to me. I was introduced to the concept by my brother Michael in 2008. It was something he did with his son. He explained the basics but we never actually went out. The idea of printing out maps and planning a search didn’t seem fun. Plus, you needed GPS specific equipment. I couldn’t justify investing in that type of specific “outdoor” when I don’t even camp.
Fast forward 6 years. GPS enabled phones are in almost everyone’s pockets. And I was reintroduced to Geocaching while researching for the AP Human Geography class that I will begin to teach in the fall. Looking for resources and activities brought me to the Geocaching app. I think I can use this concept with my students both as a means to teach certain concepts and have them participate in a year long project that requires them to “geocache” different examples of cultural, political, and physical geography.
So… My first geocache was a Fail To Find. It was at the Newport Tidepools. My daughter had taken a recent field trip and my wife wanted to take the while family to enjoy. Because of my iPhone app, we realized we were close to a cache; however, the cache was either too well hidden or lost and my kids and I just couldn’t find it. Our next attempt provided to be more fruitful!
Our 2nd chance came while taking a quick walk through the Henry Cowell Redwoods Park. Such beautiful trees.

20140630-131313-47593896.jpg
While my wife and daughter were taking their grandparents through the trees, my son and I tried to locate a geocache. There were only two that were within our short trip. There were a lot… Believe me. But we were on a schedule, and I didn’t have the time.
Here’s a picture of my victorious son with our prize!

20140630-131945-47985180.jpg

